CRLA logo

College Reading & Learning Association

ITTPC Outstanding Tutor Award (OTA):


OTA Home & Nomination


History, & List of Winners


ITTPC logo

The ITTPC Outstanding Tutor Award was established by the College Reading and Learning Association to recognize and reward an outstanding ITTPC program-certified student tutor. It was originally named the Tom pasternack Outstanding Tutor Award to honor and remember the late CRLA Newsletter editor, Tom Pasternack.

Tom Pasternack picThomas Louis Pasternack died Friday, June 10, 1994, while on vacation in France. Tom was born Dec. 5, 1937 in Passaic, N.J. He devoted his career to the study of teaching and learning and, at the time of his death, was Professor of Psychology and Education and Director of the Learning Resources Center at Randolph-Macon Woman's College. Tom received his bachelor's degree from Rutgers University, his master's degree from George Washington University, and his Ph.D. from the University of Georgia.

Before his appointment to the R-MWC faculty, Tom was an instructor of Air Operations at the U.S. Naval Combat Information Center School. He went on to teach psychology and management at the U.S. Naval Academy before going to Georgia for graduate work. He retired from the Navy as a Lieutenant Commander.

During his 27-year tenure at R-MWC, Tom served the College through numerous committee appointments, as Chair of the Psychology Department, and as a compassionate student adviser, workshop presenter and a great encourager of faculty development. One of his greatest contributions to the College was the establishment of the Learning Resources Center a place where students can go to study, use computers and seek tutors.

Tom was deeply involved in the College Reading and Learning Association. He had just completed a three-year term as national newsletter editor and had been nominated for national president of the organization. Tom Pasternack will be remembered for his quiet manner, hearty sense of humor and love of teaching and concern for students. He was blessed with the gift of friendship which he gave and received widely.

Pic & Exerpt from "CRLA Remembers Editor Tom Pasternack."
CRLA Newsletter
XVIII.2 (1994): 1-2. Print.

The first tutor award was for $250 and plaque were given in 1995 at the CRLA Conference in Tempe, Arizona.

In 2011, the award's name was officially changed from the Tom pasternack Outstanding Tutor Award to the ITTPC Outstanding Tutor Award. In 2011, two nominated tutors tied as winners and a special one-time approval was given by the CRLA Board to have two Award winners for 2011. The provision was that only one award would be awarded each year in the future.

Beginning in 2012, a special $250 ITTPC Outstanding Tutor Travel Award amount has been approved as an re-imbursement available to help the award winner, provided the winner attends that annual fall CRLA conference. Once the travel to the conference condition is met, the travel reimbursement can only be awarded to the tutor. It is in addition to the $250 check and placque awarded in the winners' name, as they can be awarded to a representative.

ITTPC Outstanding Tutor Awards

(renamed from TOM Pasternack Outstanding Tutor Award in 2011) :

Tom Pasternack Outstanding Tutor Awards (1995-2010)
(renamed as ITTPC Outstanding Tutor Award in 2011) :

CRLA-College Reading & Learning Association
Outstanding Tutor Award Program information at
Questions to ITTPC Asst. Coordinator-Tutor Award,
Roberta Schotka at
Last update on: 13-Nov-2013

Proud Members of cas logo ( & CLADEA (
Council for the Advancement of Standards (CAS) in Higher Education
Council of Learning Assistance and Developmental Education Associations